Picking & Choosing: Affirmations

In working to build myself up-I have devoured several books in the last few months. One of which was ‘You are a Badass’ by Jen Sincero (which is an amazing book by the way). One of the suggestions was to pick up affirmations and start saying them. There were a few guidelines-but the big one was that the mantras had to speak to you. And then- you start speaking them in to the world to get what you want out of life.

I might have thought this was a load of crap.

I also thought that it couldn’t really hurt if I taped some feel good phrases up around the house and said them every time I walked by them. This has been going on for about three weeks now. And I am not going to say that there have been any miracle breakthroughs-but the 30 seconds I am saying it definitely makes me feel better.

And it kinda hits me- isn’t that way this is supposed to be about? Isn’t it supposed to be about feeling better about myself, even if it is only for a few moments?

affirmationsathome

Part of what I have avoided is working on my inner dialogue- probably because of the fact that I had buried my inner dialogue so deep that I was not really cognizant of what it was saying. I did not want to face what it was saying. I thought that if I just kept it buried, then it would all be good.

Obviously- I was wrong on that. In the last six months- I have actively worked to dig in to who I am and that DOES mean confronting my internal voice. And it also means that I need to work on changing it so that it is kinder to me and so that it supports where I want to go in life. Affirmations are ways to basically get that voice in line, but they take time to build up in side of you.

Here are some of my favorite affirmations that I have posted around the house:

  • I am sexy and attractive just as I am.
  • The partner I am looking for is also seeking me.  We are brought together now through infinite love to the satisfaction of all.
  • My heart is always open and I radiate love.
  • I like my thighs and my butt and take care of them with healthy eating and exercise.

I started this the good old fashioned way- I googled it.  I searched for affirmations that spoke to me, grab my trusty markers, wrote them down and then taped them to my front door.  My mirror. The fridge. My steering wheel.  Basically- I taped them anywhere that I may have an excuse to pause for a moment or two and concentrate on myself. And it seems to be working?!?! It’s still early on, but I am going to keep going with it and maybe check in on this again in a few months.

So- have you tried affirmations? Do you have any great ones that have worked wonders for you?  Feel free to share your favorites in the comments! I’d love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

