Unfinished Business: Clearing the Slate

One of the books that I read- talked about how all of our ‘unfinished business’ can weigh on us. Even if it is really simple things like- not completely unpacking after moving from one house to another. Or half finishing the laundry every week. Or sitting on a half-finished master’s degree. Whatever it is- these things can take a great deal of mental energy away from us- even if this is stuff that we do not think is a ‘big deal’.

So- I plan to start tiny- with some of the things that I have lying around the house that I just have not gotten around to. Maybe one thing a day- probably nothing more than that, but I want to wrap up a lot of my ‘unfinished business’.

It’s not necessarily that I think this will solve crazy problems in my life and it is not that I have a crap ton of unfinished business lying around. My hope for doing this is that it will make me more willing to be spontaneous with some stuff. It will make me more willing to do other things in my life that I have always used the excuse of ‘I’ve got something I have to do’ for before. This does not mean that I am going to become a full blown extrovert- I would probably have a meltdown within a month if I even attempted that.

I think this will be good for me. I think that trying to get rid of some of the clutter that has accumulated in my mind space due to unfinished business will be good for me. It probably will not be the easiest thing in the world, but I do want to give it a good try. I have no idea what the end result will be- but I am looking forward to seeing my way through it.

Anyone else have some unfinished business that they need to work through? No matter how big or small- I think you have a good chance at doing it, if you decide that it is important to you.

Leave a Reply

