What I’m Reading: 13 Things Mentally Strong People Don’t Do

Another book down for the year. This has been one of the best books, so far. Admittedly- it is super early in the year and there are plenty more books to read through, but I really liked this one.

I do not want to give too much away about the book- so I am only going to share one point that really hit home with me. That point was that mentally strong people do not focus on things they can’t control. Hi- struggle bus- it’s good to see you again.

I struggle with letting go of the things that I cannot control. I struggle to just stick with the stuff that I can do and let God take care of the rest. Now, I do recognize that God does not need my help, but I also struggle to just let go and let God take care of things.

Take my dating life- for example. While I try to say that I am good with God’s plan for me- I kinda struggle with that- especially in the relationship category. A friend asked me this week- if I were to have God stand right in front of me and tell me that I was meant to be single for the rest of my life- how would I react? And poorly is an understatement, but it also got me thinking.

This isn’t really something I can control. At least I can’t control if and when this other person comes in to my life. And if I am going to work on some of the things that cause me problems, I have got to learn to let go of the things that I cannot control and just work on what I can control. I guess you can say this is what this year is about in a nutshell. And you can also say that it is probably going to be a life long struggle of mine to let go of the things that I cannot control.

Overall- I suggest reading the book. At the very least- it’ll give you perspective. At the most- it could give you some life changing advice. It all just depends on what you are willing to do with the knowledge that you get.

Leave a Reply

