What I’m Reading: Every Single Woman’s Devotional

While this book does not qualify as a book that I have finished reading in the last week- it is a book that I have started reading and I wanted to share a bit about it now. I’ll probably revisit this book when I’m done reading it in 24 days or so.

First of all- this is a 30 day devotional. For women. Written by a woman. That takes on things that women struggle with. That alone gives it two thumbs up from me. It is exceptionally difficult to find books that fit what a woman really feels much of the time. So far, this devotional fits the bill.

Let me be extremely honest here- I picked up this book because I needed a book that would guide me through the biblical way of being alright with being single. And while I am taking time to read my Bible every day, I also realize that I need focuses study to help me deal with the fact that I really want to be married. I really want to have kids. I really want all of these things. And at this point in time, God is saying that it is not my time. He could also be saying that it will never be my time. It is much harder to deal with that second sentence than the first. So I am burying myself in whatever literature I can find that relates back to the Bible and how God wants us to act when we’re single.

I am under no illusion that this will be easy. I am under no illusion that I will suddenly wake up one day and declare that I am just wonderful being single, thank you very much, and that I prefer it to be that way. But I do know that looking to God for help during this time is the only thing that seems to make sense. So I am doing what makes sense. I am doing what I need to do to help me and I am hoping that as I catalog some of it that it may help others as well.

Leave a Reply

