Today Was a Good Day

I talk a lot about the different things that bother me on this blog. I talk about the ways I am trying to improve. I also talked about making a happy moments jar.

So today- I do not have some sage wisdom or some sort of issue that is bogging down my heart. Today, it was just a good day. I worked hard. I managed to get a lot done and I know that I have a lot more to do tomorrow. There are a few things that were different about today than some other days recently and I want to talk a little bit about that tonight.

1.) I decided that I was going to be happy.

Or at least I was not going to let the first email that I opened send me in to a rage. I have more than a slight tendency to over-react to things, so I just decided that that was not going to happen today.

2.)I meditated.

This is one of the things that I have been trying off and on, but I definitely think it helped this morning. It helped to just have purposeful time with my thoughts and see where that lead. My thoughts aren’t always sunshine and rainbows and kittens, but the peace I get after I have been able to clear my mind is amazing. It is something I absolutely look forward to each time I meditate. I can’t say that I am super consistent with it just yet, but I am working on it.

3.) I am letting God work on me.

I have been working on this a lot, but the devotional I am currently in has really brought some points home that I have fought to accept for a long time. God works on all of us in his own way and in his own time, but I am finding that it is easier to let that happen now than it has been before. I know that this feeling is something that I have been trying to get to for a long time and I know that there will be good days and bad days, but I think today was a good day of God working on me.

So- it was a good day. And I will chalk that up as a win.

Leave a Reply

