Time With God

Each day I have a little square that simply is called ‘Bible Time’ that I try to fill in. Over the last several years, I have felt a more profound need to seek God and for many of those years I ignored it. Last year, I set out to read my Bible every day and made it through the first month of the year or so and then ‘life happened’. This year, I set out with the same goal, but I can say that my motivation to get this time in every day is so much more important.

I want to spend a little bit of time with God every single day. I want to take time to get to know Him better and to get to know what He actually intends for me. The only way that I see that happening is to dive deep in to God’s word and spending time with the message that He has for us. Now-for anyone who is reading this and thinking ‘I just don’t view God that way’ I am not going to try to sway you to my point of view. (At least not right now). I just want to talk about what I get out of it.

This time with God each day allows me to actually center myself. It allows me to get perspective on my life and all the things that should be important to me. It allows me to see what happened in the past that I can learn from and can learn to not repeat. And most importantly- it brings me closer to God.

Now- this is not an overnight success. This is something that I have slowly started to understand and something that I believe I will get more clarity on when time comes on. It isn’t supposed to be simple and it is supposed to be a lifelong learning process. While I may have been a Christian for a while, it has taken me time to be serious about it and I need to be serious about it, because I need to know just who God is.

Leave a Reply

